New Books Network

Erik Sjöberg, “The Making of the Greek Genocide: Contested Memories of the Ottoman Greek Catastrophe” (Berghahn Books, 2018)
Most of the time, memory studies focuses on well-known case studies. The result Is that we know lots about commemoration and memory regarding the Holocaust, about slavery, about apartheid, and other cases, but much less about how memory works in smaller states and less well-known tragedies. Erik Sjöberg‘s new book... Read More
Kristen Ghodsee, “Red Hangover: Legacies of Twentieth-Century Communism” (Duke UP, 2017)
I am a child of the so-called transition in Bulgaria and growing-up I could never understand why my parents and grandparents would spend our family gatherings talking about the socialist past. It wasn’t until much later that I realized how much socialism and its end are imprinted on my grandparents’,... Read More
Kristen R. Ghodsee, “Second World, Second Sex: Socialist Women’s Activism and Global Solidarity during the Cold War” (Duke UP, 2019)
Last week, I had the privilege to talk with Dr. Kristen R. Ghodsee about her most recent book Second World, Second Sex: Socialist Women’s Activism and Global Solidarity during the Cold War (Duke University Press, 2019) and the behind-the-scene details of its making. Ghodsee is a professor in Russian and... Read More
Vahram Ter-Matevosyan, “Turkey, Kemalism and the Soviet Union: Problems of Modernization, Ideology and Interpretation” (Palgrave Macmillan, 2019)
Vahram Ter-Matevosyan’s new book Turkey, Kemalism and the Soviet Union: Problems of Modernization, Ideology and Interpretation (Palgrave Macmillan, 2019) examines the Kemalist ideology of Turkey from two perspectives. It discusses major problems in the existing interpretations of the topic and how the incorporation of Soviet perspectives enriches the historiography and... Read More
Safet HadžiMuhamedović, “Waiting for Elijah: Time and Encounter in a Bosnian Landscape” (Berghahn Books, 2018)
Set in the beautiful, sprawling Field of Gacko in southeastern Bosnia and Herzegovina, Safet HadžiMuhamedović’s book Waiting for Elijah: Time and Encounter in a Bosnian Landscape (Berghahn Books, 2018) takes readers through intimate encounters and syncretic moments as he and his interlocutors wait for Elijah’s Day. An annual festival that... Read More
Norman Eisen, “The Last Palace: Europe’s Turbulent Century in Five Lives and One Legendary House” (Crown, 2018)
As we’ve previously discussed, there are a lot of books about democracy filling book store and library shelves right now. Norman Eisen could have written a book in the vein of Daniel Ziblatt and Steven Levitsky’s How Democracies Die or David Frum’s Trumpocracy, but chose to go in a different... Read More
Kate Brown, “Manual for Survival: A Chernobyl Guide to the Future” (Norton, 2019)
We cannot learn from disasters we do not yet understand. That conviction motivated historian Kate Brown to conduct groundbreaking research into nuclear energy’s most infamous chapter and write Manual for Survival: A Chernobyl Guide to the Future (Norton, 2019). By digging into recently opened regional archives, conducting dozens of interviews,... Read More