New Books Network

Norman Eisen, “The Last Palace: Europe’s Turbulent Century in Five Lives and One Legendary House” (Crown, 2018)
As we’ve previously discussed, there are a lot of books about democracy filling book store and library shelves right now. Norman Eisen could have written a book in the vein of Daniel Ziblatt and Steven Levitsky’s How Democracies Die or David Frum’s Trumpocracy, but chose to go in a different... Read More
James Miller, “Can Democracy Work?: A Short History of a Radical Idea, from Ancient Athens to Our World” (FSG, 2018)
In his book Can Democracy Work? A Short History of a Radical Idea from Ancient Athens to Our World (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2018), James Miller encapsulates 2500 years of democracy history into about 250 pages — making the case that “people power” will always need to be at the heart... Read More
A. Harkins and M. McCarroll, “Appalachian Reckoning: A Region Responds to Hillbilly Elegy” (West Virginia UP, 2019)
Appalachian Reckoning: A Region Responds to Hillbilly Elegy (West Virginia University Press, 2019) is a retort, at turn rigorous, critical, angry, and hopeful, to the long shadow J.D. Vance’s Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis has cast over the region and its imagining. Anthony Harkins... Read More
Gwendoline M. Alphonso, “Polarized Families, Polarized Parties: Contesting Values and Economics in American Politics” (U Pennsylvania Press, 2018)
Gwendoline M. Alphonso‘s new book Polarized Families, Polarized Parties: Contesting Values and Economics in American Politics (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2018) demonstrates how regional ideas about family in the 20th century shaped not only Republican and Democratic policy and ideological positions concerning race and gender, but also their ideals concerning... Read More
Sandra Mendiola García, “Street Democracy: Vendors, Violence, and Public Space in Late Twentieth-Century Mexico” (U Nebraska Press, 2017)
In Street Democracy: Vendors, Violence, and Public Space in Late Twentieth-Century Mexico (University of Nebraska Press, 2017), Sandra C. Mendiola García analyzes independent union activism among street vendors facing state repression and the displacing forces of neoliberalism. Set in Puebla, Mexico’s fourth largest city, Street Democracy traces how these informal... Read More
Steven Levitsky and Daniel Ziblatt, “How Democracies Die” (Crown, 2018)
Daniel Ziblatt has done a lot of interviews since the release of How Democracies Die (Crown, 2018) the bestselling book he co-wrote with Steven Levitsky. But we asked him a question he’d never gotten before — about a line toward the end of the book when he refers to democracy as “grinding work.” The... Read More
Matthew Green, “Legislative Hardball: The House Freedom Caucus and the Power of Threat-Making in Congress” (Cambridge UP, 2019)
“You think I am crazy, and I know you are not” is what future-White House Chief of Staff and then-House Freedom Caucus leader Congressman Mick Mulvaney said to Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy. The two members of Congress were playing a game of chicken that helps explain the tactics and strategies... Read More