New Books Network

Clare Daniel, “Mediating Morality: The Politics of Teen Pregnancy in the Post-Welfare Era” (U Massachusetts Press, 2017)
On this episode, Dr. Lee Pierce (she/they)–Asst. Prof. of Rhetoric and Communication at the State University of New York at Geneseo–interviews Dr. Clare Daniel (she/hers)–Administrative Assistant Professor of Women’s Leadership at Tulane University–on her judicious new book Mediating Morality: The Politics of Teen Pregnancy in the Post-Welfare Era from University... Read More
Joseph C. Sternberg, “The Theft of a Decade: How the Baby Boomers Stole the Millennials’ Economic Future” (PublicAffairs, 2019)
Joseph C. Sternberg‘s book The Theft of a Decade: How the Baby Boomers Stole the Millennials’ Economic Future (PublicAffairs, 2019) is an analysis of the economic condition of the Millennial generation, which was as cohort of people born between 1981 and 1996.  This generation has experienced much trauma in the... Read More
Daniel HoSang and Joseph E. Lowndes, “Producers, Parasites, Patriots: Race and the New Right-Wing Politics of Precarity” (U Minnesota Press, 2019)
Dan HoSang and Joe Lowndes’ new book, Producers, Parasites, Patriots: Race and the New Right-Wing Politics of Precarity (University of Minnesota Press, 2019) documents the changing politics of race and class in the age of Trump across a broad range of phenomena, showing how new forms of racialization work to... Read More
Christopher J. Galdieri, “Stranger in a Strange State: The Politics of Carpetbagging from Robert Kennedy to Scott Brown” (SUNY Press, 2019)
Chris Galdieri has written an engaging analysis of carpetbagging in American politics. Stranger in a Strange State: The Politics of Carpetbagging from Robert Kennedy to Scott Brown (SUNY Press, 2019), and its focus on individual case studies, highlight understandings of electoral politics in the United States and how individual ambition,... Read More
Christopher Childers, “The Webster-Hayne Debate: Defining Nationhood in the Early American Republic” (Johns Hopkins UP, 2018)
No, not the Lincoln-Douglas debates. Perhaps even more important than that Illinois contest of 1858 was the Webster-Hayne debate of 1830. Confused? Drawing a blank? Not really your fault. Would you be even more surprised to hear that these were debates held not out in front of voters, but in... Read More
Norman Eisen, “The Last Palace: Europe’s Turbulent Century in Five Lives and One Legendary House” (Crown, 2018)
As we’ve previously discussed, there are a lot of books about democracy filling book store and library shelves right now. Norman Eisen could have written a book in the vein of Daniel Ziblatt and Steven Levitsky’s How Democracies Die or David Frum’s Trumpocracy, but chose to go in a different... Read More
James Miller, “Can Democracy Work?: A Short History of a Radical Idea, from Ancient Athens to Our World” (FSG, 2018)
In his book Can Democracy Work? A Short History of a Radical Idea from Ancient Athens to Our World (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2018), James Miller encapsulates 2500 years of democracy history into about 250 pages — making the case that “people power” will always need to be at the heart... Read More