New Books Network

Vahram Ter-Matevosyan, “Turkey, Kemalism and the Soviet Union: Problems of Modernization, Ideology and Interpretation” (Palgrave Macmillan, 2019)
Vahram Ter-Matevosyan’s new book Turkey, Kemalism and the Soviet Union: Problems of Modernization, Ideology and Interpretation (Palgrave Macmillan, 2019) examines the Kemalist ideology of Turkey from two perspectives. It discusses major problems in the existing interpretations of the topic and how the incorporation of Soviet perspectives enriches the historiography and... Read More
Safet HadžiMuhamedović, “Waiting for Elijah: Time and Encounter in a Bosnian Landscape” (Berghahn Books, 2018)
Set in the beautiful, sprawling Field of Gacko in southeastern Bosnia and Herzegovina, Safet HadžiMuhamedović’s book Waiting for Elijah: Time and Encounter in a Bosnian Landscape (Berghahn Books, 2018) takes readers through intimate encounters and syncretic moments as he and his interlocutors wait for Elijah’s Day. An annual festival that... Read More
Norman Eisen, “The Last Palace: Europe’s Turbulent Century in Five Lives and One Legendary House” (Crown, 2018)
As we’ve previously discussed, there are a lot of books about democracy filling book store and library shelves right now. Norman Eisen could have written a book in the vein of Daniel Ziblatt and Steven Levitsky’s How Democracies Die or David Frum’s Trumpocracy, but chose to go in a different... Read More
Kate Brown, “Manual for Survival: A Chernobyl Guide to the Future” (Norton, 2019)
We cannot learn from disasters we do not yet understand. That conviction motivated historian Kate Brown to conduct groundbreaking research into nuclear energy’s most infamous chapter and write Manual for Survival: A Chernobyl Guide to the Future (Norton, 2019). By digging into recently opened regional archives, conducting dozens of interviews,... Read More
T. Troianowska and A. Polakowska, “Being Poland: A New History of Polish Literature and Culture since 1918” (U Toronto Press, 2018)
Being Poland: A New History of Polish Literature and Culture since 1918 (University of Toronto Press, 2018) consists of sixty essays written by authors from all over the world who specialize in Polish literature and culture. They write from a unique place: from the place of the individual who is... Read More
Catherine Baker, “Race and the Yugoslav Region: Postsocialist, Post-Conflict, Postcolonial?” (Manchester UP, 2018)
Catherine Baker’s fascinating new book Race and the Yugoslav Region: Postsocialist, Post-Conflict, Postcolonial? (Manchester University Press, 2018) poses a deceptively simple question: what does race have to do with the Yugoslav region? Eastern European studies has often framed the region as unimplicated in global formations of race, while still remarking... Read More
Daniel Unowsky, “The Plunder: The 1898 Anti-Jewish Riots in Habsburg Galicia” (Stanford UP, 2018)
Daniel Unowsky‘s book isn’t about a genocide or other incident of mass violence. Instead, The Plunder: The 1898 Anti-Jewish Riots in Habsburg Galicia (Stanford UP, 2018) examines a series of riots against Jews in Habsburg Galicia in the year 1898. Unowsky tries to understand how, in an Empire built around... Read More