Steve Fox, "Sometimes Creek" (Cornerstone Press, 2023)


Steve Fox is the winner of the Rick Bass Montana Prize for Fiction, the Zona Gale Award for Short Fiction, The Great Midwest Writing Contest, the Jade Ring Award, The Wisconsin Academy Fiction Award, and the Midwestern Gothic Summer Flash Contest. His fiction has appeared in New Ohio Review, Orca, MQR, Whitefish Review, and others. His collection, Sometimes Creek, was published by Cornerstone Press in January 2023 and has been nominated for the PEN/Bingham Award, the American Book Awards, and The Story Prize. Steve lives in Wisconsin with his wife, three boys, and one dog. Find him at

The seventeen unrelenting stories in Steve Fox's debut story collection, Sometimes Creek (Cornerstone Press, 2023), traverse a sub-zero trail of plausible magic and grit from a kaleidoscope of broken ice at a hockey rink in Wisconsin that coils through haunted rivers and around dangling legs of jamón serrano in sweltering Spanish bars and back again to a place where Kafka and Carver meet up on the page. Fox's clean prose takes you by the hand and weaves a tapestry of tenderness, dissonance, indifference, dystopia, and charm into that gauzy space that collectively takes shape in your hands as Sometimes Creek. 

You can learn more about the interviewer Megan Wildhood at

Your Host

Megan Wildhood

You can learn more about Megan Wildhood at

View Profile